A team develops over 5 different stages, according to Bruce Tuckman. Use the flashcards to unveil the stage behind each phrase. Click on each phrase to learn more.

Play 2: Stages

1- Forming Stage
Team members become acquainted with each other's strengths and weaknesses.
2- Storming Stage
Conflict may arise, whether it’s a task oriented or social related issue.
3- Norming Stage
Teams need a well defined structure. It helps to set rules and social relationships.
4- Performing Stage
It’s time to complete the task. Reaching the goal becomes top priority.
5- Adjourning (or Dissolution) Stage
The task is complete. It’s time to debrief and learn from experience.
Show More

In order to fully develop, a team must go through the five stages: forming, storming, norming, performing, and adjourning. We encourage you to learn more about Tuckman’s model and discover how to successfully guide a team through each stage.